Let Your Freak Cat Flag Fly!

If You Hate Hearing About My Cats, We Probably Can’t Be Friends by Catherine Holm/Catster – This is such a funny, too true article about when, where & with whom it’s best (or not) to share you’re cute cat stories. Or any cat story – depending on the person you’re sharing (or trying) the story.

I’ve always been a “cat person”.  Not to say I don’t love all animals, but I have had at least one cat in my life – on some level- since I can remember.   My family always had cats when I was a kid.

Specifically, Siamese cats.  And the stories I could tell about Poco (the matriarch – who lived with us for the first 17 years of my life), Freedom Fighter – “Free” for short (My older sister named him – it was the 70’s…And the name did fit – he was a lover not a fighter), Chaos (cross-eyed w/ a kinked tail…And a few marbles short of a full load – but such a sweetie!).

Those were the first of many cats that came into my life along the way.  I’ve had as many as 5 cats in my household – that was a little crazy cat ladyish (not entirely – I had 2 dogs too!), but…All of them came into my life for a reason and with their own unique personalities & beauty.

Now I have my Lilly Fae – my barn kitteh.

IMG_1442 IMG_1484 IMG_1488

She was a tiny little ball of fur when I first laid eyes on her.

I had tried my best to avoid kitties for a couple of years after I lost my last 2 about a year apart.  They had been a part of my life for 13 & 16 years.  Jasmine, a kitten my boyfriend at the time gave me while I was still in college & Pywackette, acquired a couple of years later by same said boyfriend.

Turns out, they were half-sisters several litters apart.  And disliked but tolerated each other like most sisters do on some level.

After Py & Jasmine passed, I couldn’t bring myself to consider letting another cat in my life.  I knew I would at some point because it always happens that way.  They pick YOU.  But I  felt like it would be a betrayal.  And I was completely heart-broken without them.  They had been such a part of my life for so long.  They traveled 1,200+ miles across the country with me into strange new territory (NY).

They accepted (mostly) a baby human into “their” home a few years later.

Pywackette & Baby Human

We moved again…Just so many life experiences they were a part of & always will be.

Then, a random trip to my favorite gift shop at the Rez brought me face to face with what I had been avoiding at all costs for the last couple of years.  Not just a cat, but a teeny, tiny little fuzzball – her eyes just opened.  The woman at the counter holding her telling me she was born on her farm – outside – where she would have to live if she couldn’t find her a home.

You can guess what came out of her mouth next…Yep.  “Want to hold her”??

IMG_0375

I tried to resist.  I knew if I held her I wouldn’t let her go.  But I knew I couldn’t live with myself either thinking about this little baby growing up (briefly most likely) living outside in the cold & fending for herself.

You guessed it – I held her as I walked around the store.  Becoming more & more resolved that we were meant to be.

And damn the consequences – our chocolate lab, Maggie Mae would NOT be thrilled (or so I thought).

IMG_0560

The lady gave me a box to take her home.  However, she was not a happy camper in the box sitting on my front seat as I drove down the highway.  I pulled off, took her out & nestled her into my fleece coat – which I knew I should’ve done in the first place.  She curled up inside my coat & fell asleep.

Her name popped into my head about halfway home – Lilly…Lilly Fae!

0214101433a

As it turned out, Maggie Mae – became Lilly’s doggie mom.  She slept in Maggie’s bed (still does sometimes!).

IMG_0530

Maggie was so gentle & let her bite, smack, claw her ears, nose, tail – whatever moved!

They bonded. They love each other.  We are a family.

IMG_0488

Almost 5 years later, they still love to play chase or hide-n-seek.  Lilly thinks if Maggie can pee in the snow & eat giant doggie kibbles , so can she.

Her “barn kitteh”/feral side will always be part of her personality.  Snow, water, rain – doesn’t phase her (unless there’s just a little TOO much of it).

She’s a hunter.  I’ve lost count how many mice, moles, locust, birds, squirrels who knows what else she’s killed.  I managed to rescue a few birds just this side of death, but the mice/moles/locusts – good riddance!  I’m all about keeping the natural balance in order.

lillys prize

Leave a Reply

Care2 Save Big Cat Habitats

Care2 Protect Wolf Habitat

Blog Paws Community

Blog Paws Community Badge

Blog Hop

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list...

Exposing the Big Game

Forget Hunters' Feeble Rationalizations and Trust Your Gut Feelings: Making Sport of Killing Is Not Healthy Human Behavior

2 Blind Cats and Crew

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

CURNBLOG

Movies, thoughts, thoughts about movies.

Meet the Fur-Bombers!

and share their furry adventures

Stephen K. Underwood

Buffalo New York Lawyer

ShaynaCat's Blog

Purrrrrrrr...

djrioblog

Life, music, stuff, and a few occasional rants...

Mary J Melange

A hodgepodge of thoughts, ideas and the reality of life.

Darkroomstory

Photography by Manos,

moggiepurrs

By Beverly J. Harvey -- This site is all about CATS!

Playful Kitty

Cats, Tips, and Catnip Trips

oldienewbies

Fred Horstman on A great WordPress.com site

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

GoPetFriendly's Weblog

A blog about traveling with our dogs.

Jasmijn Engering

Hashtag -Boven de Tandoriboys...

Boston Marketeer

e-mail strategist. social pioneer. content marketer. non-profit innovator. vegetarian-ish. love art. love food. love local.

Black Cat Rescue

A mission to save black cats.

Pacific Island National Parks

Welcome to the National Park Service's official blog for America's National Parks in the Pacific. Join us as we EXPLORE our Natural Wonders, CELEBRATE our Unique Cultures & HONOR our Heroes. Aloha, Talofa, & Hafa Adai!

Come Wag Along

Family Life With a Dog

Audio SeXXX

Eargasms found here!

hairballexpress

They call me Shrimp (a.k.a. @Cheap_Trills), and I am a kat. I am the supreme ruler of my house and the humans that serve me. The humans drive me nuts, so this is my daily diary. Read and Beware!

Jacki Delecki

Extraordinary women who love and heal.

ThreeCatYard

Cats, and a yard. That's enough to talk about.

Defeat Despair

In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. John 16:33

ILEANA PARTENIE

mostly about Bucharest. about yesterday's traces and today's world * surtout sur bucarest. sur les traces d'hier et le monde d'aujourd'hui

redstuffdan

Original Pictures from Nouvelle Aquitaine

Hands on Bowie

You know, it's cool for cats.

small tales

and tittle-tattle and, tunes...

dobetteralways

Welcome to the Monkey House

The Blessing of Animal Companions

Reflections on living with and caring for animals

casa azahar

my life in sevilla

L Photographs

by Laura Brazzo

Maryanne Christiano-Mistretta

health, music, and a little sass!

Gotcha Cha Cha

All Vintage Books and Illustration, and my cat Cha Cha

the scroobious pip

cat servant, mixed media artist & Alice in Wonderland lover with a social conscience

n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s

words and art by w a l t e r w s m i t h

Toronto Cat Rescue

No-kill, non-profit, registered charity: #889-198-727-RR-0001. Call us: 416-538-8592

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

RepoComedy

Funny Stuff About Popular Stuff

mixolydianblog

music is life, music is breath, music is us

Before I Forget

STORIES WITH NO BOOKS

lijiun

Smile Always

WhoseEar Hoosier Music

Snark. Sounds. Sass. Fresh-Picked in the Heartland.

chris fischer photography

just a moment in time . . .

FingerTip Fancy

Making Women beautiful one set of hands at a time

